See Her Fly

I was born a mother

I was born two weeks too late for the second

three years too late for the first.

I was brought into the world

by a father

and a daughter

I was helping a girl toddle

before I myself had

taken my first steps.

I was born strong,

steady.

I was born for her

for my baby,

my girl.

They can give

her a name,

a face,

a hair color.

I gave her

herself.

I gave her

her memories.

And she gave me mine

I saw her first step.

I saw her first laugh

I gave her

her laugh

I gave her wonderment

I was the one who

showed her the flowers

I gave her those summer days

tasting like frozen lemonade and laughter.

I was the roots of her happiness

holding her life together

letting nothing erode.

But she has forgotten

She has left me

for someone else

who has more wonders

to dazzle her with.

But I showed her

the greatest

the smallest.

I showed her

her love for the world

for writing.

I showed her

how to fly.

And I learned from

her smiles what it

is like to soar

While my feet are

cemented, rotting

away in the ground.

What I would give

to remember what it

was like to see

her fly.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. ooh. good

    Reply
  2. Thanks, it was about the swing set in my backyard

    Reply
  3. That is beautiful, such a great story, and such a beautiful way of writing it out, mysterious

    Reply

Leave a Reply

